Make a note of the changes to Christmas refuse collection

Watch out for refuse collection changes over the Christmas and New Year holidays as some collections will be earlier than usual rather than later.

Rubbish bags

This in from the council, in their own words, Ed


There will be some changes to rubbish collections over Christmas this year, primarily between Monday 23 and Friday 27 December.

Changes will also be in place between Wednesday 1 and Friday 3 January. For some households, their collections may be one or two days earlier, and for others it may be a day later.

The changes
Below are full details of the changes:

Waste normally collected on: Will instead be collected on:
Monday 23 Dec Saturday 21 Dec
Tuesday 24 Dec Monday 23 Dec
Wednesday 25 Dec Tuesday 24 Dec
Thursday 26 Dec Friday 27 Dec
Friday 27 Dec Saturday 28 Dec
Monday 30 Dec NO CHANGE
Tuesday 31 Dec NO CHANGE
Wednesday 1 Jan Thursday 2 Jan
Thursday 2 Jan Friday 3 Jan
Friday 3 Jan Saturday 4 Jan

Waste collections will resume as normal from Monday 6 January.

Christmas trees
Christmas tree skips will also be available in the following locations between Saturday 4 January until Sunday 12 January. Any trees collected in the skips are chipped and used for green projects. Artificial trees cannot be recycled and should not be included at these sites. People should not leave Christmas trees in car parks that do not have tree skips.

Brighstone village car park
East Cowes Esplanade car park
Lake, New Road car park
Ryde, Waltzing Waters car park
Somerton, park and ride
Ventnor Botanic Garden car park

Christmas trees can also be placed with garden waste at all household waste recycling centres. These can be found at Lynnbottom near Newport, Forest Road in Newport and Afton in Freshwater.

People should hold on to their Christmas cards and recycle them in their wheelie bins.

Lynnbottom
Throughout the festive period, the civic amenity site at Lynnbottom will be open as usual from 7am to 7pm apart from Christmas Day when it is closed all day.

Forest Road household waste recycling centre will be open every Sunday in December between 9.30am and 4.30pm but will be closed every Saturday. Afton household waste recycling centre will be open every Saturday and Sunday between 9.30am and 4.30pm. Both sites are closed on weekdays as normal.

Image: Alan Stanton under CC BY 2.0

Monday, 2nd December, 2013 11:31am

By

ShortURL: http://wig.ht/2bos

Filed under: Island-wide, Isle of Wight Council, Isle of Wight News, Top story

Any views or opinions presented in the comments below must comply with the Commenting 'House Rules' and are solely those of the author and do not represent those of OnTheWight.

Leave your Reply

Be the First to Comment